is Chuck Norris for Real!

Mainly Firendy Conversations

Moderator: Pete Senior

pollypolly

Postby pollypolly » Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:08 am

Interesting clip Chi, thanks for posting. From the clip I think Chuck believes that he could have taken Bruce in a real fight -
"Well, I was a professional figher"
"And he (Bruce) wasn't?"
"No"

kermit

Postby kermit » Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:00 pm

The thing about Bruce Lee is that his myth grows all the time, to the point that he now has an aura of invincibility.

Chuck has a good point. He was a professional fighter and Bruce was a screenfighter. Karate is very efficient and that's the kind of thing that wins a real fight.

Kwai Chang

Postby Kwai Chang » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:09 am

Two words: Joe Lewis.

[url]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJMDb8mjEBA[/url]

Kwai Chang

Postby Kwai Chang » Sun Nov 22, 2009 5:19 pm

Joe Lewis is far superior to Bill Wallace in my opinion. In addition, Bruce Lee himself openly stated that Lewis was the greatest fighter he had seen. Lewis was always a hardcore fighter as opposed to an entertainer and Lee also worked out with Joe, incorporating Lewis' stance, sidekick and backfist into his repetoire. Bruce Lee kept footage of Lewis' bouts and these were found amongst his belongings in Hong Kong.

Wallace was a Judo man who switched to Karate when he became injured. He was never handicapped and simply used the one leg to jab, rather like a boxer. Wallace was swept due to being over reliant on this. Incidentally, Elvis Presley saved Wallace's career by paying for surgery on his leg in the 70s.

Kwai Chang

Postby Kwai Chang » Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:19 pm