T'ai Chi

Share your opinions on Martial Arts in General. Whether nameless or not.
Princess Blade

Postby Princess Blade » Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:13 pm

Sorry Jade, can't say that I do. I'm not really familiar with the art of Tai Chi as I have been a student of Kung Fu from a young age and IMO kung fu is the most effective type of Martial Arts.|:o
I love it and I always have.

Fabhui

Postby Fabhui » Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:23 pm

Been a practitioner of Yang style for the past 16yrs and an instructor for around 5yrs.
If you have any questions I'll try and help you as best as I can.

Also I've been a pratctitioner of Jun fan / Jeet Kune Do for around the same length of time and also used to train in Muay Thai full time when I was living in Thailand.

Princess Blade

Postby Princess Blade » Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:32 pm

Thank Fabhui.

Kwai Chang

Postby Kwai Chang » Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:32 am

[Quote=Chi Liu San]I would have liked to be involved with such as system, had I been younger with plenty of time on my hands.[/Quote]

There aren't any age restrictions with regards learning Tai Chi. Many people practice it for the health benefits or in other cases to supplement training in another discipline. In any case, it's worth checking out.

Fabhui

Postby Fabhui » Fri Jul 13, 2007 3:50 pm

There are many different facets to Tai Chi, the most common, especially here in the west is its obvious health benefits.
However when I was living in the Far East I was lucky enough to train with people who trained in the art purely to make them better and more effective fighters. They would regularly visit Muay Thai gyms and wipe the floor with the Thai Boxers there!!
Now I'm not saying any art is better then another, it's all down to the individual and how they train in there art.
The training these guys did was very reality (street fight) based and so they could make their stuff work in the real world. I consider myself very lucky to have had a many, many hours of training with them.

Kwai Chang